Cseh and Hosszu finish atop, second win for Daley, 6th for Cagnatto

Tuesday, January 5, 2016

World champions highlight the winners’ list of the 2015 LEN Awards. European athletes were dominant at last year’s showcase in Kazan, in most disciplines it was a hard call to choose among the best performers.

The winners in swimming came from the same nation: Laszlo Cseh and Katinka Hosszu both represent Hungary. Earlier only the Germans could achieve this double when Paul Biedermann and Britta Steffen won the awards in 2009.

The voting saw a really balanced field in men’s swimming with Cseh being ranked first at the end. The Magyar staged a great comeback in Kazan, winning a world title after 10 years (in the 200m fly) and becoming the first male swimmer medalling at seven World Championships and also the first one clinching medals in all three distances in the same stroke (apart from freestyle). His golden triple at the short-course Europeans topped by two European Records in Netanya could be a real booster in the voting. Britain’s Adam Peaty, three-time world champion (with two WRs in the season) was a close second, while Italy’s Gregorio Paltrinieri, world champion and short-course European champion (broke the s/c WR in the 1500m free in Netanya) came third.

Katinka Hosszu completed another outstanding season and won the LEN Award for the third straight occasion. She retained her two individual medley world titles in Kazan while breaking her first ever long-course World Record in the 200m. Later she went on winning the overall World Cup title and finished her run in Netanya with the best ever individual showing in the history of the short-course Europeans by capturing 6 gold and a silver medal. Sarah Sjostrom is the runner-up in the election, the Swede collected five medals in Kazan (and broke a WR) and added three titles in the s/c Europeans.

Continue reading...


Post a Comment

Comments using obscene language, or comments calling for hate and violence will be deleted.