Cristiano Ronaldo and Katinka Hosszu AIPS EUROPE Athletes of the year

Monday, January 2, 2017

Katinka Hosszu is the female winner of the AIPS Europe Athletes of the Year Awards.

by Charles Camenzuli, AIPS Europe General Secretary

MALTA, January 2, 2017 - For the first time in his career, Cristiano Ronaldo - one of the leading figures in the world of football, ace with Real Madrid and Portugal winners of Euro 2016 besides being the 2016 Balon d'Or award - and also for the first time in her career Hungarian Hosszu Katinlka - three times Olympic winner and swimming legend - are the winners in the 2016 Edition of the European Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year Awards. 

CR7 – Ronaldo was followed by tennis ace Andy Murray and Formula 1 championship winner Nico Rosberg. Hosszu Katinka got more preferances than German tennis player Angelique Kerber and British cyclist Laura Trott.

It was the 34 th. annual poll conducted by AIPS – EUROPE through the world wide poll held by AIPS. As the biggest continental section of AIPS and was established in 1977 at the AIPS Congress in Milano Marittima , AIPS Europe during 2016 celebrated its 40th Anniversary.

Since 2003, the annual poll was named the Frank Taylor Trophy in honour of the former president of both AIPS and UEPS . Eventually the European Sportswoman awards was named for former leading UEPS official Evgen Bergant.



Post a Comment

Comments using obscene language, or comments calling for hate and violence will be deleted.